Lost in South Korea

On Wednesday morning I boarded a plane and 13 hours, and a few awkward conversations with my seatmate later I landed in Seoul, ending a 13 month military separation between my husband and myself. I’ll be here for the next month exploring, attempting to like kimchi and enjoying a once in a lifetime cultural experience that I’ll be sure to bore my grandchildren to death with.

A trip to Gongguksa Temple in Gunsan, South Korea was first up on our travel itinerary, the temple is a small relic of the Japanese Colonial period of Korea’s history so it’s not technically a Korean temple, but we’ll get around to those later.

That would be my husband standing awkwardly off to the side.

That would be my husband standing awkwardly off to the side

I found myself a little preoccupied with the temple's dog

I found myself a little preoccupied with the temple’s dog

2 thoughts on “Lost in South Korea

  1. attempting to like kimchi

    I love it. I understand there are several variations of it, but I have yet to sample any of them.

    I rather love Korean food. It’s hard to find here; they’re hidden in teriyaki restaurants. Here’s my recommendations: bimbibop, japchae (sweet potato noodles), and bulgogi (Korean BBQ beef). I have yet to try Korean-style sushi, from what I’ve read, they use more livestock meat than fish.

    Let me know what you find as far as food. And… damn, your hair looks gorgeous!

    • Thank you! We actually had Bulgogi last night, though I ordered chicken instead of beef. I’ve also found that I’m a big fan of squid, but there’s just something about kimchi that turns me off – but I didn’t know there were several variations. We’ll be heading further South in a few days and I’ll be interested to see if it’s a regional thing.

Leave a Reply

